Southwest Transportation Planning Region

Southwest Regional Transportation Planning Commission (TPR)

The Southwest Regional Transportation Planning Commission (RPC) is made up of one representative from each of the sixteen participating political jurisdictions of the Southwest Transportation Planning Region (TPR):

Bayfield - Josh Joswick

Cortez - Philip Johnson

Dolores - Val Truelsen

Dove Creek - Bryce Capron

Durango - Sarah Hill

Ignacio - Edward Box III

Mancos - Fred Brooks

Pagosa Springs - David Schanzenbaker

Silverton - Lisa Adair

Archuleta County - Ronnie Maez

Dolores County - Steve Garchar

La Plata County - Clyde Church

Montezuma County - Jim Candelaria

San Juan County - William Tookey

Southern Ute Tribe - Douglas McDonald

Ute Mountain Ute Tribe - Archie House Jr

The TPR works on transportation planning and coordination, project, and funding issues throughout the region. Since the RPC is formed by Inter-Governmental Agreement and is not a legal entity, The Southwest Colorado Council of Governments provides administrative support and contracts with the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) on behalf of the RPC for planning assistance grant funds. These funds are used to send a representative to the monthly STAC (Statewide Transportation Advisory Committee) meetings in Denver.

Every five years each TPR is required to produce an update of the Twenty-Year Regional Transportation Plan. The purpose of the Regional Transportation Plan is to identify the transportation needs of the region and develop a plan for addressing those needs. The SWRPC adopted the 2045 Regional Transportation Plan in October 2020.

← Back to Transportation